One Girl Getter Card Short of A Full Deck

Here’s a sensational new way to meet women! They are guaranteed to work quick and easy – even for shy men!

Use these cards anywhere: at dances, parties, offices, while walking or traveling. These Cards are in good taste and easy to use.

What a great idea, huh? You carry around a bunch of these cards in a lovely plastic case, and when you see a girl you like, you – I guess you hand her a card, right? Or maybe you read off the card. How sophisticated you’ll look, opening up the case, shuffling around to find just the right card – then reading it to her like you were challenging her in Trivial Pursuit.

You can get an idea of what must be on the Girl Getter cards from any bad-pickup-lines site, like the following Lame Pickup Lines from Lines that Are Good (please note: most of the Lame Pickup Lines on that site are not, um, in Good Taste – don’t say I didn’t warn you!).

Pardon me, miss, I seem to have lost my phone number, can I borrow yours?
Are you from Tennessee? Because you’re the only ten I see!
So, you’re a girl, huh?

These lines are from a slightly less salacious site: 

Baby, you must be a broom, ’cause you swept me right off my feet.
Can I buy you a drink, or do you just want the money?
Got any raisins? No? Then how about a date?

There were 12 kinds of Girl Getter Cards and you got 2 of each. Did the girl have to hand it back? If not, did you have to keep ordering replacements?

In addition to the plastic case you would also be receiving a “Revolutionary Phone and Date Index” so you could write her number down – that would look suave, wouldn’t it? And also you got a lovely book entitled “How to Make Women Want You.” I believe Chapter One tells you that the best way to make women want you is to hand out small cards with pick-up lines printed on them.

The girl in the ad has just got a Girl Getter Card, with something like the above examples printed on it. She looks reasonably OK with this, but is avoiding looking directly at the card. Also, the shy guy is nowhere to be seen. I guess the book didn’t tell him that after you give the girl the card, you do have to stick around.

[Many thanks to Vintage Scans for this one; it was originally from Swank, January 1962.]

10 thoughts on “One Girl Getter Card Short of A Full Deck

  1. This is how I met my husband. He handed me one of those cards and…well, I swooned. Who wouldn't? Most romantic way to meet a guy that I know. Much better than online dating because it's face to face. :)

  2. "Hello, my name is Bob. I am mute, so I am giving you this card to ask you "if I told you had a beautiful body, would you hold it against me? PS, I am disease free."SLAPLesson learned.

  3. !!!!I'm going to the store immediately after work to buy up all of the Monopoly(tm) board games they have. From each one, I'll take out the 'Chance' card which reads 'You've won first prize in the beauty contest, collect $10'.I'm *so* in with the ladies now! Thank you, 'Swank' magazine and Lidian for the idea.

  4. Cat – Well, yes, there's that.FreshHell – Oh, that's romantic!Barbara – I am certain that that's EXACTLY what one of the cards says.Tori – So were all those ladies who got handed cards.Eric – Maybe you could use old Monopoly cards, since this ad is from 1938. Cross out the stuff like "Get Out of Jail Free" and make up your own clever sayings!That "collect $10" bit reminded me of Monopoly, you see ;)

Leave a Reply

