A Sampling of Whitmaniacs

Those Donalds sure like their Whitman Samplers. The guys like giving them to the gals. The gals like to chomp the chocolates. Although after all these years, year after year of nothing but Whitman’s Samplers – don’t you think the ladies would like something a little different?

The ads says that if you ask any lady what her favorite candy is, the inevitable answer will be: Whitman’s. How many ladies did they ask, do you think? They just asked around the Whitman’s office, I’ll bet. No one dared to say: you know, I really prefer Brach’s Mellowcreme Eggs. 

And note to Martha Donald in the last picture: it is polite to share. See how she’s keeping the box on the side away from John? And “hand strays now and then” to the box for more and more chocolates. I’ll bet John wouldn’t mind a crack at one of those coconut creams, you know.

From Life, March 30 1942, bigger version here.

8 thoughts on “A Sampling of Whitmaniacs

  1. Lots of Donalds. Too many Donalds. They are right about Whitman's being the only choice. It's the best. Right up there with Russell Stover. And Mrs. See's. And Brachs. Well, maybe not Brach's. Never mind, I'll just take my giant Snicker's and slink away. Snickering. Why do all candy names end in a possessive? Not really expecting an answer.

  2. You know, I never cared for Whitman's!Frango's (from Macy's). Mmmmm. My husband gave me a one-pound box for our fifth anniversary and I had it all gone in under a week.I told him if he really loved me, he would never buy me a pound of chocolate again. :-)Pearl

  3. I really love "story" ads like this with such gorgeous illos. When I was a kid I thought Whitman samplers were sewing kits, though where I got that idea I couldn't tell you.Cheers,Jameshttp://zheist.blogspot.com

  4. Bossy Betty – I like Whitman's too, sometimes (I will reserve the coconut one though, I like coconut)Tori – She knows the drill by now.Max – Because candy makes one possessive, I suppose ;)Jacq – They are good, we still see them everywhere in Canada :)Pearl – With a name like Frango's how could it not be good? I like anything with mint and dark chocolate, basically.James – I love these ads too, someone clearly spent a lot of time dreaming up all this looney stuff :)JD – I wonder if she went on to be the Martha in Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? Except John would have to be George (maybe that is his middle name).

Leave a Reply

