Leftovers I Love You

Leftovers, I love you
You’re very nutritious
At least, that’s what I tell folks
And no one’s suspicious,

‘Cause Thanksgiving’s great feast
Like a culinary isthmus*
‘Twixt Halloween and Yuletide
Means leftovers ’til Christmas:

There’s turkey in pieces
And some pie the cat found
And strange Tupperwared veggies
Left lying around -

There’s some cold mashed potatoes
And cranberry jelly
So get out the mustard
Don’t go out to some deli!

Hot Dan to the rescue
With condiments galore
Will drown out the boredom
And make you eat more!

So throw it on sandwiches,
Trifle and custard
Clear out the whole fridge
By mustering the mustard

Leftovers, I love you
You are mighty appealing
Though the turkey is dry
And the stuffing’s congealing

For you sit on the table
When the family comes looking
For something for dinner
And I don’t feel like cooking.

[This 1949 ad comes to you courtesy of TJS Labs.]

*And isthmus? Well, something has to rhyme with Christmas, right? It means a narrow bit of land connecting two big land masses. It doesn’t work, completely. But it stays for now, because it’s Monday. Always blame Monday, I say!

Oh, and for more Hot Dan, you can go on over and see these leftover posts:

Hot Dan the Mustard Man
Hot Dan Redux

17 thoughts on “Leftovers I Love You

  1. vanilla – As always, you are very kind – thank you! :)Leeuna – It would be honored!Tracy – I just found another mustard-based T-giving ad, but it will have to wait until next year. The mustard folks had to get a bit creative, because one does tend to think of mayo more than mustard re the turkey sandwich.Christine – Only desperate versifiers, I think ;) And thank you!Barbara – Thanks! I like mustard, in the right milieu (it is not bad cut with a tiny bit of mayo, actually)Needless To Say – Aw, shucks. You are all so sweet! I was actually thinking about getting all the poems together and, uh…Doing Something Useful with them…In the New Year.Patricia – Thank you :)Tori – I know, me too. I think I might let Hot Dan sit at a little table of his own, where he can slather away on his own plate. You know, if he shows up. (I will be a little scared if he really does!)

  2. JD – Well, it's a thought…It isn't exactly a stellar job skill or anything, lol, but has amused me over the years and now (I hope) can amuse you all too..Lin – Well, yes, exactly!David – I know, they really went to town with the copy on some of these. You ought to see the 30s cartoon ones! There are some I've written about that are like one-page soap operas.

  3. Yummy Leftovers! My hubby LOVES them and last night we had the very LAST scraps of leftovers – I know ~ that may have been pushing it a bit??!! But we mixed things up ~ And he took some for his lunch yesterday too! Ham sandwiches, turkey, chili, cornbread pudding, sausage and cornbread stuffing – what a treat and wow – got our money's worth – don't you think??

  4. The stuffing might be congealed, but I think the people who appear in this ad have congealed brains. LEFTOVERS…MUST…HAVE…MUSTARD…ON THEM…Creeeeepy…

Leave a Reply

