The Ballad of the Sad Macramé

Who knew that even macramé items could feel such poignant sadness? Or anything, for that matter.

Meet the Wistful Purse and the Wistful Belt. They have been hanging off a tree since 1977, in a lovely book called Macramé Enchantment. But they are not enchanted! They are wistful. Full of wist! Longing for all the good times they used to have back inside the house, lying on the couch watching a little TV, having a snack or two, maybe even getting worn out to a few parties.

And now? They are full of nothing! They’re all hung up. And if you think they’re unhappy, just imagine what that tree must be feeling. You just know that all the other trees are laughing their heads off at this.

5 thoughts on “The Ballad of the Sad Macramé

  1. OMG you had me laughing hysterically! We actually have some similar 1970s macrame instruction booklets for some equally "emotional" plant hangers, memo boards, and decorative owl wall hangings.

  2. Didn't I see those things in the Blair Witch Project? You know, in that scary part of the haunted forest with the wicker furniture hanging in the trees? 'member? – G

  3. Carole – I lucked out at Goodwill last week with two extremely (unintentionally) funny macrame booklets – as you see! We had to do it in school (about 3rd or 4th grade) and I still have the useless purse I made back in the early 70s! I have shown it around here and NO one is impressed ;)FreshHell – A lucky flash in my brain this morning. And it really was lucky, because it's been SO busy here the last 3-4 days that I was not thinking too clearly.Georgina – I haven't seen Blair Witch Project but – like so many things – I know OF it and, yes, this would fit in perfectly, based on the little I know. It would scare me to see this hanging on some random tree, I know that.

Leave a Reply

