A Wild and Crazy Record

Troy Cory has a little – well – proposition for you. He’s going to sing for you. And this is what you are going to do:

Dine by it. Dance by it. Romance to it. Work with it. Relax to it – and even discuss it.

Um, OK. I could eat a sandwich near it and then do the Peppermint Twist. And I could work with it – as long we can communicate directly. If we can’t, I’ll be discussing it behind its back, all right.

Now, if you don’t have speakers in the bedroom, Troy will not be singing – no matter how much you plead, or how much money you send in. The records simply will not emit sound if you don’t have a ginormous hi-fi system set up in there.

And it must be a quadrophonic system, too. The goth in white satin over on the right is actually a qualified sound engineer and will be checking up on you.

It also helps to be a 70s guy who wears gold medallions and call women chicks and foxes. Just like the Two Wild and Crazy Guys on Saturday Night Live. This is exactly the sort of record they would have, isn’t it?

Perhaps you will make friends with two foxes, like Troy! That will be interesting, especially if his girlfriend shows up at the recording studio. It will be the Closest He Ever Came to A Black Eye.

I would also like to direct you to the dubious song titles. Personally, I don’t think that a song called “I Must Remind Myself To Cry” sounds very romantic. Sounds like an ode to a To-Do list. Although the song I tend to sing is called I Must Remind Myself To Vacuum. And “It’s Impossible” evokes not romance, but the age-old problem of trying to load the dryer and write at the same time.

P.S. For a Special Bonus Troy will sing even more songs. Including – in Column B – “Light My Fire.” That would be pretty special, to hear his version of that.

From Popular Science, of all things, October 1973. And the picture of the Wild and Crazy Guys is from snlparty.com.

******
Thank you so much to vanilla at String Too Short To Tie for the J’Adore Tien Blog award!

11 thoughts on “A Wild and Crazy Record

  1. HAHAHA!Yeah, just what IS going on with Goth chick in white over there? She really looks out of place, despite the parenthetical reminder that this is "romantic you know).Hmm. I'm afraid I'm not sold. Too many cover versions and not enough original material. Plus I don't have speakers in my bedroom.

  2. Just for kicks, I googled our good friend Troy and made the amazing discover that he actually had a TV show that began in 1974!!! "The Troy Cory Evening Show" ran for an even more amazing FOUR seasons!!!

  3. Tori – I think it ran in China for awhile in the early 200s and was rather popular. Yikes.Needless To Say – Oh, let's not get with this particular program, shall we? We can opt out! It will be good, opting out.

  4. Lidian, Here's my $10 to join the "No speakers in the bedroom" association. I know that by joining now, I will be eligible for numerous member-only discount offers including a three month trial subscription to the Stinky Fruit of the Month Club. Durian is the fruit of the month for October!! Whoot!

Leave a Reply

