Coffee and Banquettes

This place is a restaurant and just to make sure you realize this, the sign outside says “Restaurant Restaurant.” It’s twice as good as anywhere else in Dallas in the 1950s. In town or in the country!

And I especially love the banquette seating that wraps around that central pillar. I’ll have my cocktails there, please.

I’ll be having a Country Club, which according to my Jimmy of Ciro’s cocktail recipe book – from the 1930s – is made with 1 part French vermouth, 1 part Bacardi Rum and a teeny dash of Orange Curacao.

The Cowboy cocktail, which is also appropriate here at the Restaurant Restaurant, is made of 2 parts whisky to 1 part cream. That might be nice mixed with coffee, later on, since it is National Coffee Day. (Thank you so much to Louise at Months of Edible Celebrations for this info, otherwise I would have been swigging coffee all day not realizing that I was actually celebrating something as well as dosing myself with caffeine. I always like this kind of multi-tasking.)

So – scratch the Country Clubs and let’s have Irish Cowboy Coffees instead.

And thanks to coltera at Flickr for the fabulous postcard!

5 thoughts on “Coffee and Banquettes

  1. Tracy – This is the new, low-key, do-whatever-I-like blog (and I guess I like retro, so there you go) – so I am just having fun. Glad you like it and thanks for visiting :)vanilla – It's always Coffee Day here at my house too :)

  2. I was watching an old movie with Hubby yesterday and one of the characters was sitting on a banquette. I asked Hubby if he knew what the guy was sitting on and he didn't, so I told him, "a banquette." Thanks for making me look knowledgeable!

Leave a Reply

