Hairku Off Face

Stubble and trouble:
My face was hairy, all right.
And life was lousy.

Beard, lady, circus:
Thoughts ran their vicious cycles.
I tried many things:

Even Brad, smirking,
Lent his electric razor,
And some Barbasol.

Then Annette Lanzette
Rhymed grandly into my life,
With something simple:

A Mystery Thing,
A method that is painless,
Yet not electric!

Tweezers and a sign
Stuck to the back of my head
Saying: Hair Off Face.

Brad laughs at Madame.
He has just made a bad joke,
About vain women.

I am smiling now;
As I turn quickly towards Brad.
Watch those sharp corners.

9 thoughts on “Hairku Off Face

  1. Lidian, You bring out the haiku in me: Dear Madame LanzetteMy superfluous face hairIs tied in a bowAlack and alasWhat would nosy neighbors sayIf not for your planUnloved, discourageDamned hairy face is my woeRazor, cut, cut, bleedLife is joyful nowBeauty, love and happinessI thank you AnnetteAnd thank you Lidian

  2. Ron – I thank you alsoFor such delightful haiku – Witty and sparkling!Tracy – You know, I'll bet some people DID send for this!Sue – It is great fun, you will love it! :)

  3. I love the way the ad is written as if by some regular person who is sitting in their living room, writing a letter inviting you – personally – to find out what they do to solve a problem.And the address? "Department 812". Because everyone has a Department! Didn't you know?

Leave a Reply

