Flaming Globes of Paté

A long time ago I used to write about horrid retro recipes over at Kitchen Retro, which began as a blog about strange old cookbooks from the past. Although I am always trying to find ways to avoid cooking, I do like to read cookbooks, especially old ones, and have a large collection of them. I prefer the retro, the tacky, and the strange. Eventually KR evolved into a retro advertising blog and I thought of changing the name, until it struck me that one could also read the title as Kitsch and Retro, so maybe it would be OK.

The Doubletake, being a blog for anything I find interesting, can encompass all sorts of retro fun stuff, so Horrid Retro Recipes have returned! Only sometimes they will not be totally Horrid. Sometimes I can’t really decide what I think of something. Is it awful, or maybe – just maybe – weird enough to work? So you be the judge! I am going to try to put up a weekly poll in one of the sidebars. Things are still under construction, as you see. But I will try! :)

This exciting appetizer is from my latest find, the 1969 opus June Roth’s Fast and Fancy Cookbook. Just from the title, you know it will have plenty of extraordinary things in it! The subtitle is “Glamorous Gourmet Dishes From Inexpensive Quick-Fix Foods.” Uh oh, that sounds a little dubious. So may I present Flaming Walnut Paté Balls, just over there, to your right.

Is this a good idea, to set fire to little chicken-liver-curry-and- walnut spheres?

I keep thinking of the Seinfeld episode (“The Heart Attack”) in which Jerry has seen some Late Late Movie and found something in it so hilarious that he wrote it down in the middle of the night, when he was half-asleep. Of course now he can’t read the scrawled note. It turns out that he was watching some old sci-fi thriller (a fictitious one). Finally, the great comedic line is revealed to be “Like flaming globes of Sigmund!” As Jerry remarks, “That’s not funny.”

I think that these may be the actual Flaming Globes of Sigmund. Sigmund can have all the leftovers back, too.

5 thoughts on “Flaming Globes of Paté

  1. The late 60's were sad, sad times from a culinary point of view. It's no wonder those of us subjected to the horrors of this type of food are all dying from cancers, cardiac problems, etc.

Leave a Reply

