Noxzema Haiku

A poor complexion
Is no reason to give up:
Spotty chins up, girls.

No need to look glum
As last week’s Sunday paper
Left out in the rain.

Just buy a big pot
Of medicated white cream -
It’s called Noxzema!

O wondrous potion
That makes unsightly skin glow
With happy smoothness!

Girls, this stuff is grand,
Life-changing for thousands who
Were thrilled beyond words!

So go out right now
And spend some money, honey:
Go buy lots and lots

Of you-know-what cream.
And very soon you will smile
Pretty much non-stop.

Yes, it is that good.
No, the supplies will not last:
Get cracking, sister.

******
Advertisement from Song Hits magazine, February 1942. So you could sing a little song on the way to the drugstore, you see. Through the paper bag over your head. You know the Before Girl is thinking about doing that.

10 thoughts on “Noxzema Haiku

  1. If I use this cream,I will break out in a rash.I am allergic.I do like the smell, but I used it on a sunburn once, boy what a mistake.

  2. Not many know this, but Noxzema was originally known as “Dr. Bunting’s Sunburn Remedy.”Until a salesman for the company noted where a customer discovered that the product “knocks eczema,” so inspiring its present name.Now you know.

  3. Mary – We still use it, actually. It is really good.Dee – Oh dear. That does not sound grand at all.Me-Me – I don’t know either, but I do rather like it.The Exaggerator – Yes indeed.

  4. I used to use this as a teen, loved the smell and fresh feeling on my face. Problem being? It’s NOT for a person who breaks out. It has about 5 different kinds of oils in it and causes terrible breakouts. I always wondered WHAT was causing it. It was all the extra oil I slathered on my face. lol

  5. Awesome!!! I remember using this stuff as a teen too. In fact, my mother used to glob it in my nostrils with a Qtip in the winter when we’d go outside and play. Yeah, don’t ask.

  6. Sandi – I had no idea it had a lot of oil in it! My girls both use it and really like it.Amy – Yes, and I remember Boone Bell face toner being advertised pretty heavily then too. KiKi – OK, I’m not asking…

Leave a Reply

