The Ad of Laughter and Forgetting

1. “A noted publisher in Chicago” = we don’t remember his name, ironically enough.

2. A “simple technique for acquiring memory…that works like magic” = expensive, convoluted and, just like stage magic, relies on optical illusion, deception and verbal trickiness.

3. “The publishers have printed full details” = uh oh, we forgot their names, too.

4. “Mailed free to anyone” = you’ll pay later, somehow. We forget how, though.

5. And what in the world is Hugh Laurie doing in this ad?

6. Oh, I know, it’s Just Some Guy who looks like Hugh Laurie. This ad ran in 1966, so it couldn’t be. Don’t know who it is, really. Nobody knows. If they did, they forgot.

12 thoughts on “The Ad of Laughter and Forgetting

  1. Tori – Oh, he has. Or else he never knew, quite.Mrs4444 – Oh, well, I…me too! :)Da Old Man – No one knows how much it costs. Maybe they forgot to price it.

  2. Bill – You’re right! So it doesn’t matter if I forgot to put a stamp on it…nonamedufus – We’ll be getting to Easter soon enough!Amy – He does, but he is not as cute as HL. I am sure HL has a very good memory, too.Shay – Probably.Preston – LOL!

  3. The first time I saw this ad in a magazine it was right under one for defeating your procrastination. Such indecision. Even now, as I write this comment a century later, it still occurs to me how futile (or perhaps optimistic) it would be to buy ad space for ads targeted at people who procrastinate, or who have poor memories. Or both, as was my own case. I probably cut out the ad but didn’t send it off. I forget.

Leave a Reply

