A Side Order Of Salmagundi, To Go

First of all, many many thanks to Julie at Frugally Retro for the lovely “I Love Your Blog” award! I get to pass it along to seven other blogs, and naturally this is difficult because I love a lot more than seven blogs…So here goes:

Lily’s Licorice
Months Of Edible Celebrations
Found In Mom’s Basement
Chica & Pumuckl
Daisy the Curly Cat
Luxor
Grr Midnight and Cocoa

You may notice from this list that I adore cats as much as I do retro advertisements and weird vintage books. Though they are outside the scope of this blog (except when one of them walks across my keyboard as an editorial comment) we live under the aegis of two beautiful grey cats.
I am quite silly-sounding when I talk to them and cuddle them – I’ll spare you all that. Anyway, I do love all the above blogs and always look forward to visiting them.

So that was the first thing to do today. Check it off the list, sister!

And secondly: you will notice that I have got the Foodie Blogroll back on my sidebar – a happy result of the move back to Blogger. You see, Kitchen Retro started out in January as a weird-retro-recipe repository, and since then has become a veritable – what? A melange, a salmagundi, a potluck of the kitsch and the retro (ahem). It has got, in fact, as many ingredients as one of those terrible 1940s make-do casseroles had in them.

In any case, I will still be writing about the retro recipes and the kitschy cookbooks – waving hello, metaphorically, to the Foodie Blogroll! – but of course will also be throwing in all the other things. Makes for a nice balanced retro diet. And you can never have too many weird vintage ads, I always say.

Speaking of which (she said, clearing her throat and coughing uncontrollably in a vain attempt to make a transition)…speaking of which!

It is Wordless Wednesday – though here it seems to have turned into a rather contradictory, wordy Wordless Wednesday. So I am going to follow this post up with a Wordless one.

One visual to go, hold the mustard! I’ll get right on that.

6 thoughts on “A Side Order Of Salmagundi, To Go

  1. Hey thanks for the award. I’m honored to receive it from you. Isn’t that funny, can you actually “look up” to a blog? I guess it’s the writer you look up to.Now I have to get to work in getting mine passed along. What fun!

  2. Thank you so much for the award — It’s quite an honor coming from someone with such a great blog of her own!– PaulaPS I have FOUR cats (much to my husband’s shame and horror).

Leave a Reply

