Hawaii Is Not Responsible For This Sandwich

IMG 40 Famous Menus Kraft

I’m not doing a links post today – I’ll probably just do them when the mood strikes. It was a long week and there was a heatwave in Ontario and, well, that’s my excuse. I will try and post a couple of short posts today, as I will not be running around buying socks and things at thousands of stores, and standing in millions of checkout lines. That was quite a popular thing to do yesterday around here. I felt quite plugged into the Zeitgeist, I tell you!

Making fun of things like, say, 40 Famous Menus From O.K. Economy and Shop-Rite is much more enjoyable!

What a lot of Kraft products there were (and no doubt are)! Too bad only one seems to be used in this lovely sandwich recipe. I’ll bet you could probably fit a few other Kraft ingredients in there somewhere, anyway. Check out the top picture (and there’s another inside the back cover of the book, too, with even more stuff) – blackberry jam, caramels, mustard, Romano cheese, Spaghetti Dinner. Creativity counts in these 1950s recipes, you know!

HAWAIIAN SANDWICHES

Hamburger buns
Peanut Butter
Canned Pineapple Slices
Velveeta Pasteurized Process Cheese
Maraschino Cherries

1. Slice hamburger buns in half. Spread each half with peanut butter.
2. Place on broiler rack. Cover each bun half with a slice of pineapple.
3. From loaf of Velveeta Pasteurized Process Cheese cut one slice of cheese for each bun half.
4. Place slice of cheese over each slice of pineapple.
5. Place Hawaiian Sandwiches under low broiler, heat unti lVelveeta melts. Garnish with maraschino cherries. Serve immediately.

IMG_0001 40 Famous Menus Hawaiian Sandwiches

You may not want to eat them immediately though – if ever. 

10 thoughts on “Hawaii Is Not Responsible For This Sandwich

  1. Okay, peanut butter actually tastes pretty good despite unlikely combinations with a variety of foods. I’ll accept that. My mother, for example, loved an occasional peanut butter & onion sandwich. I was a teenager before I worked up the nerve to try one, and it was surprisingly good.

    This offering, however, sounds wretched. PB & pineapple, maybe. But Velveeta???

    Oh, that whirring noise? That’s just King Kamehamehe spinning in his grave.

  2. No, we are not that kind of Sandwich Islands! We didn’t invent spam pizza either, no matter what you’ve heard (spam musubi, on the other hand, is in every 7-11).

    You know how on Gordon Ramsey’s “Hell’s Kitchen” show he does those blind taste tests and the competitors can’t tell chicken from beef? Maybe if you just didn’t look at the sandwich?

  3. oh dear I just am so tempted to try this – probably would regret it (btw in Australia we don’t have velveeta cheese but I am assuming it is the plastic sort which I am not keen on, so would make it with a better brand of cheese if I do try it)

  4. Bill – Yeah, I think the Velveeta is the deal breaker. Well, and the cherry. Er, and the pineapple possibly.

    Amy – Yeah, it is hard to imagine someone making this.

    M.K. – I’d like to see what Gordon Ramsey thinks of this sandwich (I would be at a safe distance of course)

    T.W. – It was a desperate time at the 1950s Kraft test kitchen!

    Johanna – Velveeta is basically made from plastic, yes. If you do try it please come back and tell us how it worked out!

  5. I can top that. Here’s another Kraft recipe for an hors’ d’ oeuvre. On a toothpick spear a grren olibe, a cube of velveeta, a thick slice of kielbasa sausage and a maraschino cherry. The whole thing must be eaten all at once so the four taste meet and combine in a delicious mouthful. I think this would go smashingly with your Hawaiian sammies. Let’s have a party.

  6. Hey it works for me.
    Peanut butter makes for a lazy Satay flavouring.
    A mix of PB, garlic and maybe a bit of chilli and smeared over your hamburger is not so terrible.

    The recipe sounds like making little Hawaiian mini pizzas, except using PB instead of tomato paste. Yeah, I could eat them. The cherries are pushing it a bit though.

Leave a Reply

