Wartime Recipe Service, 1940

Ration Recipes, British 1940

Sorry about the what-look-like-someone-poked-a-pencil-through-it marks on the 1940 Woman’s Weekly offering above.  That wasn’t me. I rescued the poor coverless magazine from a secondhand bookstore basement and I need to scan all the ads before it just gives up and falls apart (the basement didn’t do the cheap paper much good, not to mention the pencil pokes).

Anyway, here we have some scrumptious Ration Recipes: Liver Sandwich, which is liver in pastry (so really not a sandwich per se), Cold Meat Pasties (more meat in more pastry), and Economical Spotted Dick, which is a steamed currant pudding. And I don’t know why it is called that but it certainly doesn’t sound like dessert to me as much as the punchline of a dirty joke. Which I am not making except in this indirect and roundabout way, sort of implying it.

Apparently “spotted” refers to the currants (duh) and “dick” is derived from the last syllable of the word “pudding” or from “dough.” A hospital in England changed the name to “Spotted Richard” on its menu in 2002. They thought that the sick people might be too embarrassed to order a Spotted Dick. They have since changed the name back. I think maybe if you are in hospital you have other things to worry about.

The recipes are from the McDougall Self-Raising Flour people…Oh, I just thought of a good joke. I’ll bet you know what it is, too.

I might come back and post some more ads later. It is a rainy day here, as soggy and depressing as – as a Liver Sandwich. So more funny retro ads are definitely in order.

4 thoughts on “Wartime Recipe Service, 1940

  1. Live Sandwich just might become the new qualitator (is there such a word?) – you know; He’s as boring a liver sandwich. I’m as a tired as liver sandwich, those socks are as smelly as a liver sandwich. I think you may have started something here.

  2. I think you are right Vallen. That liver sandwich is about as awful as something gets!

    Yes, Cedar – it is quite amazing, that name. I can never say it without giggling. Not that I say it all that often, except in the interests of kitchen history, tee hee.

Leave a Reply

